Finalists TROMP 2018 announced

Elliott Gaston-Ross (Great-Britain), Nikolay Ivanov (Bulgaria) and Kai Strobel (Germany) are the finalists of the TROMP International Percussion Competition 2018!

The finalists of the TROMP International Percussion Competition 2018 are Elliott Gaston-RossNikolay Ivanov and Kai Strobel. Kai Strobel won the Willem Vos Award (€ 500) for the best interpretation of a composition by a composer from the Netherlands in the 2nd Round with his performance of Totem I & Totem II by Arnold Marinissen. The Finale will take place this Sunday afternoon, November 18 at Muziekgebouw Eindhoven. The three finalists each perform a solo piece and their own interpretation of Solo for Percussion and Ensemble by Daníel Bjarnason with Asko|Schönberg. This new composition was commissioned by TROMP. The winner of TROMP 2018 will be announced at the end of the Finale, which will be broadcasted live from 14:00 CET at this website and the TROMP YouTube Channel.

Since 9 November, 28 of the most talented percussionists from all over the world have been competing in order to gain a spot in the semi-finals, which took place yesterday and today. The international jury of TROMP 2018 includes Michael Burritt (USA), Martin Grubinger (Austria), Momoko Kamiya (Japan), Arnold Marinissen (The Netherlands), Mark Pekarsky (Russia), Emmanuel Séjourné (France), and Ruwen Yang (China). Besides the first prize of  € 15,000, the finalists are also competing for the Press Prize (€ 2,000, assigned by renowned music critics) and the Friends of TROMP Audience Award (€ 3,000). Furthermore, TROMP will invite its laureates to play concerts in The Netherlands and abroad. 

More information about and tickets for the Finale Sunday 18 November.

More news

    Percussionists around the world support Muziekgebouw Eindhoven

    Within 24 hours percussionists from all over the world sent their videos to Dominique Vleeshouwers to show their support for Muziekgebouw Eindhoven and TROMP.

    TROMP in tv-show KlickKlack

    Festival artist and competition jury member Martin Grubinger brought his German tv-show KlickKlack to TROMP. Watch the broadcast from BR-Klassik. (German spoken)

    Kai Strobel wins TROMP competition 2018

    Nikolay Ivanov wins 2nd Prize and Audience Award, Elliott Gaston-Ross wins 3rd Prize and Press Prize