TROMP 2022 competition

The TROMP International Percussion Competition will take place at Muziekgebouw Eindhoven, The Netherlands from 10 to 20 November.

1st Round

Muziekgebouw Eindhoven, Kleine Zaal

  • Friday 11 November 2022
  • Saturday 12 November 2022

In the 1st Round of the TROMP International Percussion Competition the selected participants each give a performance of max. 20 minutes. The individual programmes include one selected work from the required repertoire for set-up and a work for vibraphone of one’s own choice.

2nd Round

Muziekgebouw Eindhoven, Kleine Zaal

  • Monday 14 November 2022

After performing in the first round, all candidates will continue to the Second Round. In this round the participants also compete for the Willem Vos Award for the best rendition of a composition for marimba solo by a composer from The Netherlands.

Semi Finals

Muziekgebouw Eindhoven, Kleine Zaal

  • Wednesday 16 November 2022
  • Thursday 17 November 2022

In the Semi Finals the remaing participants compete for a spot in the Finale of TROMP 2022. Each participant compiles a programme for a recital for solo percussion. The individual programmes must include:

  •  the new compulsory work Continuum for percussion solo by Petra Strahovnik, commissioned by TROMP
  • at least one work for mallets of one’s own choice
  • at least one work for set-up of one’s own choice

TROMP 2022 Finale

Muziekgebouw Eindhoven, Grote Zaal

  • Sunday 20 November 2022

The Dutch Canadian composer Trevor Grahl writes the new mandatory percussion concerto Folly that the three TROMP finalists will perform with Asko|Schönberg. During the performance, the percussion soloist and ensemble must play together with a video that is then projected on a large screen. How exactly is still a surprise. Exciting, because the three greatest percussion talents from all over the world are competing at the highest level for the prizes.

Jury TROMP 2022

  • Arnold Marinissen (Netherlands, chair)
  • Michael Burritt (USA)
  • Emil Kuyumcuyan (Turkiye)
  • Mark Pekarsky (Russia, selection round)
  • Bart Quartier (Belgium, live-rounds)
  • Emmanuel Séjourné (France)
  • Ruwen Yang (China, selection round)
  • Yi-Ping Yang (Taiwan)
  • Xiong Zhou (China, live-rounds)



1st Prize

€ 15.000 & concert engagements

2nd Prize

€ 10.000 & concert engagements

3rd Prize

€ 7.000 & concert engagements

Friends of TROMP audience award
€ 3.000

Jan Pustjens Press Prize
€ 2.000

'The Annelie', prize of the youth jury
€ 1.000

Willem Vos Award
for the best rendition of a composition by a Dutch composer in the 2nd Round: € 500