Commissioned compositions

Every competion edition, TROMP commissions compositions to leading composers.

TROMP Percussion Eindhoven creates opportunities and a stage for young talented percussionists from around the world, but also for percussion in general. With commissioned compositions by leading composers TROMP continues to innovate and refresh the repertoire for classical solo percussion.

Over the past fifteen years composers including Louis Andriessen, Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly, Joey Roukens, Michael Torke, Steve Martland and Jacob ter Veldhuis have composed new pieces for percussion commissioned by TROMP. Some of these works have been included in the selection list of compulsory repertoire for the competition.

Commissioned compositions TROMP 2018

Daníel Bjarnason composes the new mandatory final work for the TROMP competition in 2018, which will be performed by the three finalists. Bjarnason is a multi-talented composer, conductor and curator and works with indiebands (Sigur Rós, Efterklang) as well as orchestras like the Los Angeles Philharmonic. Daníel Bjarnason is composer-in-residence at Muziekgebouw Eindhoven.

Mayke Nas writes the new compulsory work for the Semi Finals in the TROMP 1018 competition. From 2016 to 2018 Mayke Nas is Composer Laureate of the Netherlands. She received commissions from Slagwerk Den Haag, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and Eighth Blackbird amongst others and was awarded with the Matthijs Vermeulen Price of Encouragement 2003, Anjer Muziekprijs 2005, Kees van Baarenprijs 2015 and an artist-in-residence fellowship in Berlin by the DAAD.

Commissioned compositions TROMP 2016

Glenn Kotche - Time Passages**
As a composer and percussionist, Glenn Kotche is active in both the composed music scene as in indie pop and the broad range in between. Kotche is a creative omnivore seeking the best of various artistic worlds, which he not only manages to connect but also enrich. From installations constructed from 'found sound'  to compositions for ensembles such as the Kronos Quartet and Eighth Blackbird. And from collaborations with composers like John Luther Adams to his work as a drummer with Wilco, one of the world's most influential indie rock bands.

Robin de Raaff - Contradictie V*
Robin de Raaff wrote Contradictie V, the compulsory work for the Semi-Finals for multiple percussion solo set-up. De Raaff's Percussion Concerto for percussion soloist and ensemble earned him international praise in The New York Times in 2013. De Raaff wrote compositions commissioned by the Netherlands Opera and the Holland Festival among others.


Commissioned compositions TROMP 2014

Bryce Dessner - TROMP Miniature
Bryce Dessner has been linked to Muziekgebouw Eindhoven as composer in residence for three seasons. He composed Tromp Miniature for marimba and crotales as a compulsory piece for the nine semi-finalists. A true 'Dessner' piece with driving, syncopated rhythms and a mesmerizing end, in which the leading role is claimed by the unique sound of the crotales. 

Louis Andriessen - Tapdance
Louis Andriessen adds extra lustre to his 75th birthday with Tapdance, a concert written especially for TROMP Finale of 2014 and inspired by the big band and tap dancing culture of the nineteen twenties. Lasting around 15 minutes, the piece consists of only one part, yet within this Andriessen focuses on three sections. "The first is purely rhythmical, with Charleston patterns. The second, a toccata for marimba solo, introduces pitch. The slow closing section consists of a soloist playing only timpani", said Andriessen about it.

List of compositions

For previous editions of the competition the following works have been (co-)commissioned by TROMP:

2000: Louis Andriessen - Woodpecker

2002: Kevin VolansTrumpet & String Quartet 2**

2006: Jacob ter Veldhuis - Barracuda Concerto

2008: Steve Martland - Starry Night**

2010: Michael Torke - Mojave**


  • Joey Roukens - Beat Mutations*
  • Nico Muhly - Double Standard


  • Bryce DessnerTromp Miniature
  • Louis AndriessenTapdance


  • Robin de Raaff - Contradictie V*
  • Glenn Kotche - Time Passages**


  • Mayke NasCinderella*
  • Daníel Bjarnason - Percussion Concerto

* These commissions were supported by Performing Arts Fund NL (Fonds Podiumkunsten)
** These commissions were supported by the Eduard van Beinum Stichting.


Complete competition repertoire